We Are Broadcasters
National Association of Broadcasters

RTDNA Announces Winners of the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards

Topic: Community-Focused Initiatives
Posted on 7/17/2015

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Award winners, recognizing outstanding radio, television and online news organizations. RTDNA selected 104 winners from 4,200 entries.

CBS News earned seven Murrow Awards: Breaking News, Continuing Coverage, News Series, Newscast, Use of Video, Writing and Best Website. CBS Radio News won for Continuing Coverage, Feature Reporting and Newscast. Overall Excellence award winners are:

  • ABC News, New York (Network Television)
  • ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)
  • TEGNA Media’s NBC affiliate KING-TV Seattle (Large Market Television)
  • Hearst Television’s ABC affiliate KETV-TV, Omaha, NE (Small Market Television)
  • CBS Radio’s WCBS-AM/FM New York (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)
RTDNA also announced the 2015 Kaleidoscope Award winners for excellent coverage of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation and gender identity. Winners include the University of Washington’s KUOW-FM Seattle (large market radio) for "Two Indias: Near and Far" and General Communication’s CBS affiliate KTVA-TV Anchorage, AK (small market television) for "Season of Sacrifice, Season of Hope."

Read more stories on Community-Focused Initiatives »

How Broadcasters Serve Their Communities

More than 2.47 million American jobs depend on broadcasting, and the local broadcast radio and television industry - and the businesses that depend on it - generate $1.17 trillion annually for the nation's economy.

View State-by-State Data »