We Are Broadcasters
National Association of Broadcasters

RTDNF Announces 2017 First Amendment Award Honorees

Topic: Community-Focused Initiatives
Posted on 1/26/2017

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) announced the recipients of its 2017 First Amendment Awards. "At a time when freedom of the press is facing unprecedented challenges, our honorees stand up for values that are critically important to democracy," said RTDNF chair Kathy Walker.

  • Bill Whitaker of CBS News won the Leonard Zeidenberg First Amendment Award. The 30-year veteran has covered the presidential campaigns of Mitt Romney in 2008, George W. Bush in 2000 and Michael Dukakis in 1988, the funeral of Nelson Mandela, the Fukushima nuclear disaster and the pro-democracy uprising in Tiananmen Square.
  • Steve Jones, Vice President and General Manager of ABC News Radio, won the First Amendment Service Award. Under Jones’ leadership, ABC News Radio has received some of the highest honors in broadcasting including more than a dozen Edward R. Murrow Awards and 10 International Radio Festival Awards. Jones joined ABC News Radio in 1986 and has covered the Iran-Contra affair and the first Gulf War.
  • Stanley S. Hubbard, President and Chairman of Hubbard Broadcasting, won the First Amendment Leadership Award. Hubbard oversaw the building of the first successful UHF television station in a VHF market, created the world’s first satellite news gathering organization and established United States Satellite Broadcasting. He is an inductee in the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame and NAB Distinguished Service Award recipient.

Read more stories on Community-Focused Initiatives »

How Broadcasters Serve Their Communities

More than 2.47 million American jobs depend on broadcasting, and the local broadcast radio and television industry - and the businesses that depend on it - generate $1.17 trillion annually for the nation's economy.

View State-by-State Data »