We Are Broadcasters
National Association of Broadcasters

RTDNA Announces 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award Winners

Topic: Investigative Reporting
Posted on 4/25/2017

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced winners of the 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards on April 25. The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the world. This year, RTDNA awarded 751 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 16 categories and received nearly 4,300 entries. Examples of the winners include:

  • TEGNA’s NBC affiliate KUSA-TV Denver was the top winner at the regional level, winning 12 awards in Large Market Television, including newscast, excellence in video, sound and writing, sports and overall excellence

  • Raycom Media’s Fox affiliate WVUE-TV New Orleans came in second with a total of 11 awards. Tegan’s NBC affiliate KARE-TV in Minneapolis took home 10 regional Murrows

  • In Small Market Television, three stations won nine awards each: Raycom Media’s CBS affiliate WAFB-TV Baton Rouge; TEGNA’s NBC affiliate WBIR Knoxville; and Sinclair’s CBS affiliate WGME Portland, Maine

  • A complete list of the 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners is available here.

    Read more stories on Investigative Reporting »

    How Broadcasters Serve Their Communities

    More than 2.47 million American jobs depend on broadcasting, and the local broadcast radio and television industry - and the businesses that depend on it - generate $1.17 trillion annually for the nation's economy.

    View State-by-State Data »